One Month In!

It’s official! I have been living in Chile for an entire month!

Over the course of this past month, I have worked on relearning Spanish (and learning Chilean slang!), started classes, visited Argentina, spent hours at the beach, and have made lifelong friendships.  What a month it has been!  As much as I am loving Chile, some days are also very difficult.  It is hard being away from home, with a new language living in the city, but I am also so glad for how I have been able to grow so far in this time.

I have been adjusting to my new routine fairly well as classes are now in full swing.  I am lucky enough to not have classes on Mondays or Fridays! On Tuesdays and Thursdays, I have a long day of three classes: Poetry, Conversation, and Grammar; and on Wednesdays I begin early with three hours of Economic Development and end with Conversation in the afternoon.  So far, I am enjoying all of my classes, though poetry in Spanish is very difficult.

17098309_10206821323292218_6966704868595104291_n

I am anxious to keep learning about Economic Development from a Latin American perspective! It is important in this field to be mindful of culture and context, therefore looking at Economic Development through the lens of Latin America provides answers that make sense for this area.  Chile especially is an interesting country to look at economically, as there is a great disparity between the rich and the poor, though it is largely more developed that other countries in Latin America.

I am also enjoying the excursions that my organization has organized for us! We have visited some interesting and important places around Santiago, Valparaiso, and Vina del Mar. We recently spent a day on the beach in Zapallar, a beach to the north of where I am living! It was a beautiful and relaxing day.  I am so blessed to be living so close to the ocean this semester!

I am so glad to continue this journey for 3 and a half more months (102 more days!) as I pursue learning and exploration in this place. I definitely think there are some more beach days in my future before it starts to cool off down here!

HASTA LUEGO!

P.S. Yes, those wild sea lions in the featured photo!

 

 

One thought on “One Month In!

Leave a Reply

